Dolly and Me skirts

I made my daughters matching skirts with matching skirts for their My Life dolls.  I also made the girls leggings.  The leggings were kind of a bummer and way more trouble than they were worth.  I didn’t use a pattern for them and I’ve never made leggings before, so that didn’t help.  Next time I’ll stop at the skirts and call it good.  I used a tutorial from Make It & Love It (http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2012/11/matching-dolly-me-skirts.html) for the skirts.  My oldest daughter, Katie,  is a reluctant model and the youngest, Emma, was way too hyper to stand the way I told her.  The only reason we got a genuine smile out of Katie, was because my husband stood behind me, acting like he was going to give me a wet willy.  I got the material for the skirts from Walmart’s remnant section and the waistband and legging fabric from my Mom’s stash.  The only cost to me was the thread.  I love doing yoga waistbands because they are so comfy for the girls and really easy to make.  I originally set out to make something for Katie’s birthday, but when I got her skirts cut out, I just had to make Emma some at the same time.  The real payoff came when the girls opened their skirts.  They couldn’t wait to try them on and try them on their dolls.

Image

Leave a Reply

