Shirt into Shrug

The other day I came up with a way to turn a shirt into a shrug on accident.  I was playing with a men’s shirt upcycle where I cut off the men’s shirt from the back yoke, around to the front and then straight across the front beneath the armpit.  I was going to add different fabrics to the bottom of the yoke and the front.  I may still do that.  Once I undid the buttons, I realized I had a T-shape.  I’ve looked at lots of shrug tutorials and several of them have you cutting your fabric into a T-shape.  I’ve never done it though.Image 

I finished off the raw edges and then played around with pinning the edges together.  You end up putting the shirt on upside down with the front of the shirt making the sides.  I’m also wearing the skirt I refashioned from a long jean jacket.  I added the rectangle of fabric squares on the side.  I don’t know if you can see it in the back, but there are a couple of the buttons left in the back that were for adjusting the coat that I left.  They are nice to have because they hold my belt in place along the back.

Image

Please ignore the less than straight mess at the back of my head.  I’m practicing straightening my hair.  I haven’t done it in years.  The shoes I’m wearing, I’ve had forever.  They are A 2’s and super comfortable.  The shirt I thrifted last year, I believe from Goodwill.  It’s got a stain on the breast and I’ve contemplated dyeing it, but the stain bugs my hubby more than it bugs me.  The belt I got from my Father-in-law and Mother-in-law.  They got it from a yard sale along with some costume jewelry for my daughters.  I ended up keeping the belt and some other bracelets because the girls didn’t like them.  Thanks Gpa and Gma!

While I’m on the subject, I really do need to thank my Mom and my Father-in-Law and both Mothers-in-Law.  They are always encouraging and always finding me great deals.  My Mom lets me have all the fabric I want from her stash.  My Texas Mother-in-Law sent me her old Scrabble game to play with.  My Colorado Father-in-Law and Mother-in-Law always find me stuff at yard sales, including two big jars of buttons that an older lady had been collecting for years.

One thought on “Shirt into Shrug

Leave a Reply

