Grecian Goddess Dress

P1100276

Greetings from Ancient Greece!  Well, not really.  More like Northern Colorado.  This is my sheet upcycle that was giving me such fits the other day.  This sheet came from Goodwill, probably for a buck.  I’ve also made two infinity scarves out of it for my Mom and my hubby’s Grandma.  I love the colors.  I looked at this tutorial, kind of.  The video is really long and my wifi was being persnickety, so I just used the measurements.  I probably needed lighter weight fabric to do this exact tutorial, which is why I was so frustrated.  I love upcycling because it’s quick and I get nearly instant gratification when something goes right.

For this upcycle, I didn’t like the baggy waistband and the way the top was laying.  Again, the fabric was so heavy that it just kind of hung straight down.  Even a belt didn’t support the middle enough to bring it up to my waist.  I cleaned my entire house, except my magnet keeper/kids art/all important papers holder, aka, my fridge.  I even did the ceiling fans.  I find that when my house is cluttered, so is my mind.  Every little thing I notice that needs to be done nags at me and takes my focus away from what I really want to be focusing on.

The answer ended up being an elastic band around the waist, gathers on the shoulder and then part of a green shirt for the belt and the strap gathers.  I love using little pieces of fabric to gather my straps over my breasts.  It pulls all the fullness together and give the girls extra breathing room.  I’m not sure where I’ll wear it, probably on a date night or just around the house because it is SO comfortable.

The extra happy moment came when I realized that the colors matched the pillowcase dresses I made for my girls.  SQUEEEE!!!  I told my hubby that our next family picture outfits were done as long as he and my son could find shirts to match us.  Although, he doesn’t get as into family pictures as I do, so I’ll probably be scouring Goodwill’s racks for them myself.

 

Leave a Reply

