Scrap-tastic!

I’m on the hoarder end of my fabric stash.  I save ALL my scraps…no matter how little.  Thread and fabric scraps alike.  I have a little basket where I put all my cloth and thread scraps for stuffing.  I have all my other scraps color coordinated in a divider I got from my hubby’s work when they were remodeling.  The smaller fabric scraps and ones that are not easier to fold are color coordinated in gallon ziploc bags.

Jars of buttons, ribbon scraps, clothing labels and other various lost things that I'll do something with, someday.  (Sorry hubby, probably not today)

Jars of buttons, ribbon scraps, clothing labels and other various lost things that I’ll do something with, someday. (Sorry hubby, probably not today)

Fabric scraps galore!

Fabric scraps galore!

Trying to be less like a hoarder (yeah right), I made a banner and hoop with scraps and buttons.  I should have mentioned that I also hoard buttons.  I have those color coordinated as well.  This project didn’t really make a dent, but it was fun and looks pretty in my bathroom.  I really like the green and blue next to all our dark wood.  Makes me happy.

I glued buttons to push pins to hang the banner.  The bottom buttons on the string of buttons on the banner are also push pins to keep the buttons showing.  I sewed on all the other buttons with green embroidery floss and reinforced my knots with hot glue.  The banner scraps are tied onto ties from an old heating pad.  If you can’t tell, I just double knotted the scraps to the hoop and the banner.

I’m glad I finally let go of some of my buttons for this project.  They are all just so pretty and unique that I always like to look through them, but can’t bring myself to use any of them.  What did I tell you?  Classic hoarder.  Now that I’ve used them, I get to look at them every day.  I now have plans to make a banner for my living room and kitchen.  Yay scraps!!!  

Banner hanging in my bathroom.

Banner hanging in my bathroom.

Another picture of my banner with the shelf it hangs over.

Another picture of my banner with the shelf it hangs over.

Hoop art with scraps and buttons.

Hoop art with scraps and buttons.

2 thoughts on “Scrap-tastic!

Leave a Reply

