Uh-Huh-That’s-Right-You-Go-With-Your-Bad-Self-Moment

I’m laundering, dusting, straightening, vacuuming, everything, the whole house today, when inspiration strikes.

lightbulb

The majority of the knotted rag rug tutorials I’ve seen require some kind of grid to knot the scraps to.  I’ve seen the braided rag rugs that you sew together, but I like the idea of just cutting and knotting; no thread and no sewing required.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a fabric scrap hoarder.  I don’t want to throw any of it away.  I don’t even throw away my thread scraps.  The tiny fabric scraps and the thread scraps make a great eco-alternative to poly-fil.  All I was missing for this project was the grid.

Here’s where I took a frying pan to the face from my creative brain.

fryingpan

I like to imagine Rapunzel from Tangled is my creative brain. She’s good with the frying pan, also.

I have two yoga mats.  I don’t need two, I just couldn’t find the first one, so I bought a second one…yada-yada-yada.

Having two yoga mats is unnecessary and dangerous.  One is good enough for me.  Having two just encourages my five year old, Emma, to get them both out.  Then, in our no-room-for-extra-beds-house, she makes two extra beds, complete with pillows and blankets.  One in the kitchen and one in the living room.  Or, she lays them out, end to end, with pillows extending the length of her bridge; because she is pretending there is lava and she can only walk on her bridge.  Not only is it messy, everyone trips over them, including Emma.  I love for her to use her imagination, but my kids have inherited my clumsiness and we don’t need any extra trips to the doctor.

Should be easy enough to create a grid using the extra yoga mat, right?  I’m thinking that as long as I don’t make the holes too big there won’t be any extra tearing.  My house is small, but my need for rugs is large.  The yoga mat is big enough to make several rugs.

Glad I “put it on the blog”.  Now I can get back to cleaning and wait for another frying pan to the face.

 

Leave a Reply

